Wednesday, February 3, 2010

Ten CMS magnet schools win national recognition

Ten Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools received merit awards from Magnet
Schools of America. Collinswood Dual Language Academy, Davidson IB
Middle, Piedmont Open IB Middle, Randolph IB Middle, Smith Academy of
International Languages and Idlewild Elementary were named 2010
Schools of Excellence.

Magnet Schools of America recognizes schools that show a commitment to
high academic standards, innovative curriculum, successful efforts in
desegregation and diversity, and delivering quality services to

Four other CMS magnets were named Schools of Distinction: Myers Park
Traditional, Oakhurst Elementary, Oaklawn Language Academy and
Tuckaseegee Elementary.

"Our teachers, students and staff work hard to ensure high-quality
magnet programs across the district," said Jeff Linker, director of
magnet programs. "It is a major accomplishment to have 10 of our
magnet schools recognized for excellence."

Only 54 schools nationwide were named Schools of Excellence, including
14 in North Carolina. Seventy-three schools across the United States
were named Schools of Distinction, including 15 in North Carolina.

This was the first time Tuckaseegee Elementary, Myers Park Traditional
and Randolph IB Middle schools applied for the award. Tuckaseegee
Elementary Principal Dayna Sanders said her staff was surprised but
thrilled to learn they had won on their first try.

"Tuckaseegee is tucked away off I-85 and it isn't in a well-known part
of Charlotte. This award makes us shine and lets everyone know we are
just as competitive as any other program in CMS or in America," she
said. "We have scholars who have the potential to be and do whatever
they want because we provide that rigorous curriculum."

This is the fifth year in a row Idlewild has been recognized. Oakhurst
has won awards for four years in a row, and Oaklawn was recognized for
the past three years.

All 10 of the CMS winners will be recognized at the national Magnet
Schools of America conference, which is being held in Florida in May.
The six Schools of Excellence will have displays in the exhibit hall,
and will go on to compete for additional honors and possibly monetary